APA Appoints 11 to Ethics Code Task Force

Group charged with evaluating code, recommending revisions as needed

WASHINGTON — Eleven ethics experts have been appointed to serve as an Ethics Code Task Force, charged with analyzing and evaluating the American Psychological Association’s “Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct” and recommending revisions as appropriate.

“Consistent with APA’s mission to act in the public interest, the Ethics Committee views this revision of the Ethics Code as an opportunity for the association to provide forward-thinking, visionary leadership and guidance that is based in clear values and ethical decision-making,” said APA President Jessica Henderson Daniel in announcing the panel. “The task force is charged with creating a code that is transformational and that remains a leading practical resource regarding ethics for psychological science, education and practice while retaining those aspects of our Ethics Code that serve the public and our discipline and profession well.”

The last comprehensive review and revision of APA’s Ethics Code was completed 15 years ago.

Task force members were chosen by the Ethics Committee and approved by APA’s Board of Directors. The panel comprises 10 psychologists and a nonpsychologist public member, and is led by Linda Campbell, PhD, (chair) and Mark Leach, PhD, (vice chair).

Campbell is a professor in the department of counseling and human development services and director of the Center for Counseling at the University of Georgia in Athens, Georgia. Leach is a professor and chair of the department of counseling and human development at the University of Louisville, in Louisville, Kentucky.

Jennifer Kelly, PhD, will act as the 2018 liaison from the board of directors. She is director of the Atlanta Center for Behavioral Medicine.

The task force, after soliciting public comment, will report its findings and recommendations to the Ethics Committee, which will forward a final version of the code to APA’s Council of Representatives.

Additional members of the task force:

  • Anita B. Brown, PhD
    Consultant, independent practice, Atlanta
  • Cyndie M. Buckson, PsyD
    Principal consultant for Clinical & Forensic Consultation Services, LLC, Bowie, Maryland
  • Melanie Domenech Rodríguez, PhD
    Professor, department of psychology and chair, institutional review board, Utah State University, Logan, Utah
  • Celia B. Fisher, PhD
    Marie Ward Doty endowed university chair in ethics; director of the Center for Ethics Education; professor, department of psychology; and director, HIV and Drug Abuse Prevention Research Ethics Training Institute, Fordham University, New York
  • Rodney Lowman, PhD
    President, Lowman and Richardson/Consulting Psychologists, PC; distinguished professor emeritus, CSPP/Alliant International University, San Diego
  • Greg E. Manship, DBioethics, MDiv (nonpsychologist public member)
    Director, Human Research Protections Programming; research integrity officer, University of Indianapolis, Indianapolis
  • Gayle Skawen:nio Morse, PhD
    Associate professor, department of psychology; program director, counseling and community psychology programs, Sage Colleges, Albany, New York
  • Melissa Tehee, JD, PhD
    Assistant professor, department of psychology; director, American Indian Support Project, Utah State University, Logan, Utah
  • Linda M. Woolf, PhD
    Professor, psychology and international human rights, Webster University, St Louis, Missouri
The American Psychological Association, in Washington, D.C., is the largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States. APA's membership includes nearly 115,700 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students. Through its divisions in 54 subfields of psychology and affiliations with 60 state, territorial and Canadian provincial associations, APA works to advance the creation, communication and application of psychological knowledge to benefit society and improve people's lives.