APF Walter Katkovsky Scholarships

Up to nine $5,000 scholarships are offered annually for first-year students enrolled in APA designated programs in psychopharmacology.


Sponsor: American Psychological Foundation


The American Psychological Foundation’s (APF) Walter Katkovsky Scholarships support early career postdoctoral licensed psychologists (no more than ten years postdoctoral) in clinical or counseling to obtain training in psychopharmacology.

The scholarships are intended to encourage opportunities for psychologists to join healthcare teams and benefit patients who have psychological and medical problems.

APF will distribute funds to the students' institutions, which must be non-profit or governmental entities operating exclusively for charitable and educational purposes. The institution must agree to administer the scholarship before the funding will be released. APF does not allow institutional indirect costs.

Students must be in the first or second semester of training.

Up to nine $5,000 scholarships are available. 


Applicants must:

  • Have applied to an APA designated program in psychopharmacology.
  • Be an early career licensed psychologist (up to 10 years postdoctoral) in clinical or counseling psychology from programs accredited by the American Psychological Association (APA).
  • Have experience with and commitment to working with patients who are experiencing medical problems in addition to psychological problems.
  • Have experience in providing interventions/therapy based on theoretical and research-based conceptualizations of patient-problems and disorders.
  • Recognize the need to evaluate the potential benefits, limitations, and dangers of introducing and eliminating psychotropic medications as part of patients' treatment plans.
  • Be committed to providing psychological interventions/therapy as the primary treatment for patients.
  • Show evidence of enrollment in an APA-designated program before receiving scholarship monies.
Note: Preference will be given to those applicants with current or pending opportunities to work collaboratively with medical professionals in a medical setting (e.g., hospital, clinic or community health center).
How to Apply
Submission Process
Application Requirements
  • Statement on how candidate fulfills the eligibility requirements and how the candidate will be able to provide enhanced patient care through psychopharmacology training (no more than five pages, one inch margins, single spaced, no smaller than 11-point font).
  • Two letters of recommendation supporting candidate's qualifications with reference to the scholarship's goals.
  • Current abbreviated CV (maximum of 10 pages).

For more information about the proposal requirements please see the online application form.

Past Recipients
  • Daubney Boland, PhD, New Mexico State University
  • Jason Christopher, PhD, Alliant International University
  • Christa Coleman, PsyD, Fairleigh Dickinson University
  • Jennifer Collins, PsyD, Fairleigh Dickinson University
  • Jordan Edwards, PhD, Alliant International University
  • Saurabh Gupta, PhD, Alliant International University
  • Chiara Haller, PhD, Alliant International University
  • Alison Radcliffe, PhD, Fairleigh Dickinson University
  • Koren Ganas, PhD, Fairleigh Dickinson University
  • Bracken Gott, PsyD, University of Hawaii at Hilo
  • Joel Hartong, PhD, Fairleigh Dickinson University
  • Derek Phillips, PsyD, Fairleigh Dickinson University
  • Tracy Ransom, PsyD, Fairleigh Dickinson University
  • Lauren Stokes, PhD, Alliant International University
  • Scott Young, PhD, Fairleigh Dickinson University
  • Eddie Taylor, PhD, Alliant International University