Congratulations to the Ethics Office Awardees

At the 2018 APA Annual Convention in San Francisco, Nan R. Presser, PhD, received the 10th annual APA Ethics Committee Ethics Educator Award for outstanding contributions to ethics education.

Stephen J. Molitor, MS, and Melissa R. Dvorsky, MS, graduate students at Virginia Commonwealth University received the seventeenth annual Ethics Committee Graduate Student Ethics Writing Prize for their winning paper, "Assessing Parent Mental Health in the Service of a Child Assessment: Navigating Ethical Considerations." Under the mentorship of Ethics Committee members, the prize-winning paper will be published in the journal Ethics and Behavior.

Two students received honorable mention: Case Western Reserve University graduate student Allison L. Baier for her paper, "The Ethical Implications of Social Media: Inadvertent Self-Disclosure and Other Concerns," and University of Missouri, Columbia graduate student Kelly Boland for her paper, “Ethical Considerations for Providing In-home Mental Health Services for Homebound Individuals.”  With mentoring from Ethics Committee members, both papers will be prepared for possible publication in the journal Ethics and Behavior.

New Ethics Code Task Force Members

Congratulations to 11 new Ethics Code Task Force (ECTF) members selected by the APA Ethics Committee and approved by the APA Board of Directors. The ECTF will implement the Ethics Committee's plan for the next review of the Ethics Code, report to it regularly regarding revision processes and submit to the Ethics Committee a proposed revision of the Ethics Code. Upon completion of the ECTF’s work and approval by the Ethics Committee, the final version of a revised Ethics Code will be submitted to the Council of Representatives for adoption as the APA Ethics Code. The ECTF includes a non-psychologist public member as well as an early career psychologist.