Congratulations to the 2017 TOPSS Charles T. Blair-Broeker Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients

Kudos to this year’s teaching award winners.

The American Psychological Association Committee of Teachers of Psychology in Secondary Schools (TOPSS) and the APA Education Directorate are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 APA TOPSS Charles T. Blair-Broeker Excellence in Teaching Awards. Tiffany Karns of Rowlett High School in Rowlett, Texas, and Daria Schaffeld of Prospect High School in Mt. Prospect, Ill., were announced the award recipients in early April. The APA TOPSS Charles T. Blair-Broeker Excellence in Teaching Awards recognize outstanding high school psychology teachers who are committed to academic and professional excellence. Congratulations, Tiffany and Daria.

Daria Schaffeld Tiffany KarnsTiffany and Daria will each receive a framed certificate, an engraved award, $500 and a complimentary TOPSS membership renewal in 2018. Additionally, both will receive the “High School Psychology Video Anthology DVD” and a $500 credit to Bedford Freeman and Worth Publishers, generously donated by Worth Publishers.

APA published press releases on Tiffany Karns and Daria Schaffeld. Teachers can access Tiffany and Daria’s two-day lesson plans submitted as part of the application process online. Both teachers will be further profiled in the next issue of the Psychology Teacher Network newsletter.