Steven O. Walfish Grants

Up to two $2,000 grants are available to graduate students and/or early career psychologists (within 10 years of earning the doctoral degree).


Sponsors: APF ; Division 42


The Steven O. Walfish Grants supported by the Division 42 Next Generation Fund promote and support the next generation of student and early career practitioner psychologists to expand the knowledge base in the practice of psychology.

Applicants are required to submit manuscripts on clinical, practical or research innovations that address evolving standards, practices and methods in psychological practice. Topics may include population‐based practice issues, procedure or technique‐based practice issues, diagnosis‐based practice issues or service delivery models describing a practice innovation.

Grant recipients are encouraged to use the grant to attend the APA convention to present their work. The papers of the grant recipients may qualify for publication in the Div. 42 journal, Practice Innovations.

Up to two $2,000 grants are available to graduate students (within two years or less of completing the doctoral degree) and/or early career psychologists (within 10 years of earning the doctoral degree).

Winner(s) will receive a one‐year free membership to Div. 42.

Support research in psychology: Donate to this fund.


Applicants must:

  • Be a graduate student or an early career psychologist.

  • Submit a manuscript that has not been previously published.

  • In the case of multi-authored manuscripts, the role of each co-author should be described, and the award candidate’s role must be primary.

How to Apply

Proposal Requirements

  • Current CV.
  • Manuscripts must conform to the "APA Publication Manual" style.
  • Letter of recommendation.
  • Statement that the Division’s journal, Practice Innovations, will have a right of first refusal with respect to publication of winning manuscripts.
Please be advised that APF does not provide feedback to applicants on their proposals.

Submission Process and Deadline

Submit a completed application online by Sept. 30, 2018.

Questions about this program should be directed to Erin Carney, program officer.

Past Recipients

Lori M. Hilt, PhD, Lawrence University

Nili Solomonov, PhD, Adelphi University


Laura M. Grossi, Fairleigh Dickinson University

Emma Hamilton, The University of Texas at Austin