Division 17 Counseling Psychology Grants

Up to $6,000 available to enhance the science and practice of counseling psychology.


Sponsor: APF


These grants support not-for-profit activities to enhance the science and practice of counseling psychology. In particular, it aims to support research on the implementation of innovative counseling programs and models. 

The division has $6,000 available to fund one or more proposals. Typically, the division funds two to three proposals in the range of $1,000-3,000 each.

Support research in psychology: Donate to this fund.

  • Membership in Society of Counseling Psychology.

  • Be affiliated with a nonprofit charitable, educational, or scientific institution, or governmental entity operating exclusively for charitable and educational purposes.

  • IRB approval must be received from host institution before funding can be awarded if human participants are involved.

  • Early career psychologists (no more than 10 years post-doctoral) are encouraged to apply.

How to Apply

Submission Process

Past Recipients
  • Stephanie Hoover, PhD, Western Oregon University

  • Elliot A. Tebbe, PhD, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

  • Joel Wong, PhD, Indiana University

  • Jennifer Callahan, PhD, University of North Texas

  • Jesse Owen, PhD, University of Denver

  • Gargi Roysircar-Sodowsky, EdD, Antioch University

  • Femina P. Varghese, PhD, University of Central Arkansas

  • Geoff Bathje, PhD, the Adler School of Professional Psychology

  • Gulsah Kemer, PhD, and Ashley K. Randall, PhD, Arizona State University

  • Matthew Miller, PhD, University of Maryland

  • Ji-yeon Lee, University of Texas at Tyler

  • Debbiesiu Lee, University of Miami

  • Jeffrey Hayes, PhD, Pennsylvania State University

  • Ji-yeon Lee, PhD, University of Texas at Tyler

  • Nathan Wade, PhD, Iowa State University

  • Steven Danish, PhD, Virginia Commonwealth University

  • Frederick Lopez, PhD, University of Houston

  • Emily Bullock Yowell, PhD, University of Southern Mississippi

  • Edward Delgado-Romero, PhD, University of Georgia

  • Michael B. Madson, PhD, University of Southern Mississippi

  • Karen O'Brien, PhD, University of Maryland

  • Hung-Bin Sheu, PhD, Arizona State University

  • Meifen Wei, PhD, Iowa State University

  • Asma Jana-Masri, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

  • Frederick T.L. Leong, PhD, Michigan State University

  • Saba Rasheed Ali, PhD, University of Iowa

  • Ruth Chao, PhD, University of Denver

  • Jo-Ida C. Hansen, PhD, University of Minnesota

  • Clara E. Hill, PhD and Charles J. Gelso, PhD, University of Maryland